innerchildplayground

Meet My Alter Ego

I know we just met, but do you have an alter ego?

Oxford dictionary defines “alter ego” as:

A person’s secondary or alternative personality.

Or in a pop culture explanation, alter ego is what Sasha Fierce is to Beyonce (in this clip she talks about how Sasha is the stage performer, not Beyonce).  Quite confusing especially when ‘Beyonce’ isn’t her real name either (it’s her mother’s maiden name).

As ironic as it sounds, I think an alter ego is one’s own honest self in disguise.  It allows the person to act just the way they want to free of criticism, pressures and expectations from family, friends and society or perhaps the fear of being vulnerable by exposing their soul.

The term ‘alter ego’ is like adding “haha” after a message or comment to make it sound light hearted or non committal while you really do mean what you preceded “haha” with.

For me, my alter ego does not have a flashy name accompanied by a craving for limelight. My alter ego is my inner child.

So with my first post, on my first blog, I want to open up to you to let you know – WYSIWYG (if you’re unfamiliar with this geek term, WYSIWYG is an acronym for “What You See Is What You Get”.

This is where I’d like to share with you my doodling, sketches, paintings as well as my thoughts, uncensored.

Do you have an alter ego?  I’d love to hear your thoughts so please let me know below haha…just kidding, for real.

inner-child-drawing by Yukari Iwasaki, blogger of Inner Child Playground. Copyright 2013.

This is a simple sketch of what I think my inner child looks like.


If you want to know why this blog exists in the first place, your answer is here.

Til next time,

Signature of Yukari Iwasaki, blogger of Inner Child Playground

Yukari Iwasaki

This entry was published on August 7, 2013 at 9:22 pm. It’s filed under Drawing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

