innerchildplayground

Beautiful Bondi on a Monday

Bondi beach sketch by Yukari Iwasaki, inner child playground

I had a day off yesterday to spend extra time with my family who came to Sydney for the first time since I have moved here 3 1/2 years ago.

I have often dreamt and planned where I will take my family around in my new city so to be able to visit the suburbs that I like, to eat the food from the cafe that I like and for my family to stay at my place were so fulfilling for me.

Yesterday, being the start of the work week, we headed to Bondi anticipating less crowd.  Although the sky looked threatening in the morning, the clouds divided to let the sun shine on the famous Bondi beach.

Bondi Beach, Sydney, photographed by Yukari Iwasaki, inner child playground

It was an uplifting experience to walk along Bondi to Tamarama as we enjoyed Sculpture by the Sea and to simply take in Bondi beach.  Especially so, when it is Monday when I normally wish to bask in the natural light rather than the stale fluro office lights.

Sculpture by the Sea, photographed by Yukari Iwasaki

One of the sculpture.

This reminded me of this sketch that I drew last time I was in Bondi:

Bondi beach sketch by Yukari Iwasaki, inner child playground

It was also on a sunny Monday afternoon a few months back.  An unusually warm winter day felt liberating as everyone else was doing their time in front of the computer.

We all cannot head to Bondi every Monday but from these two days in Bondi, I understand the importance of taking a break from our desk.  Take a longer route to get to your printer, organise a lunch with workmates away from desk and just spend a few minutes to soak up the sun.  Even if it’s not in Bondi, it’s still the same sunshine warming us up.

If you are an office worker like me; how often do you go outside and if not, why don’t you take a break from your desk?

Cheers to family time and sunshine,

Signature of Yukari Iwasaki, blogger of Inner Child Playground

Yukari Iwasaki

This entry was published on October 29, 2013 at 10:08 pm. It’s filed under Drawing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

