innerchildplayground

Last painting of 2013

3-paint-only-painting-2013-by-Yukari-Iwasaki-inner-child-playground

I wanted to paint how the Burleigh Beach was on the last day of 2013 so I popped over to the beach this morning and took some photos.

This afternoon I wanted to get stuck into painting it but realised that I forgot to bring my water colour paints when I flew back home; the only available paint were 3 acrylic paints of red, yellow and blue.  I thought I had the fourth paint of white but it dried out due to the 4 years of neglect.

Not knowing if it will work at all, I started to mix the primary colours and see where it took me.

This is the final product:

Last-painting-of-2013-3-paint-by-Yukari-Iwasaki-inner-child-playground

 

I am pleasantly surprised by the range of colours I was able to create by playing with the ratios of the 3 basic colours.

Forgetting my water colour paint was a sucky event especially as I wanted to paint the Burleigh beach series but because of this I had a happy accident of painting the above painting with just 3 paints.  I found the flip side to my situation rather than abandoning it altogether.  The lack of water colour pushed me from my comfort zone and I think I reaped the benefit.

Similar to my last painting of 2013; I hope 2014 will be filled with these happy occurrences for you and for me.

Happy New Years everyone!  I wish you have had created many happy memories in 2013 and that 2014 is the most exciting year yet.

 

Cheers to letting go,
Signature of Yukari Iwasaki, blogger of Inner Child Playground

Yukari Iwasaki

Facebook: /innerchildplayground

Instagram: /innerchildplayground

This entry was published on December 31, 2013 at 10:07 pm. It’s filed under painting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

