innerchildplayground

A piece of home

Burleigh beach mini canvas by Yukari Iwasaki, inner child playground

My sister is moving to Europe next month; an exciting new chapter in her life…far far away from me.

To be honest I have a very mixed emotion about her move because I am so unsure as to how often I will see her.  It makes me sad, but I know that she is very thrilled and I want to celebrate this stage in her life with her.

Celebration is often linked with gifts and I wanted to give her a going away gift.  The mini canvas and the mini easel that her boyfriend gave me for Christmas will be perfect.

Searching through many photo albums, I came across this Burleigh beach photo that was taken on Mother’s Day, 2008:

Burleigh Beach in 2008 by Yukari Iwasaki, inner child playgroundThis picture captured home to me. By looking at it; my sister and I will both know exactly where it is so I decided to paint this for her.

So I got stuck in…

mini canvas set up Yukari Iwasaki by inner child playgroundmini canvas set up Yukari Iwasaki by inner child playground

The set up for the mini canvas painting

Painting on a small canvas is actually much more challenging but after a rough sketch I just went for it.

Starting to paint Yukari Iwasaki, inner child playground

I started off with the sky and the bottom as they will be layered a bit and also for me to get a sense of how it will look.

Progress with Burleigh Beach by Yukari Iwasaki, inner child playground

I kept some white speckles in the water for the shimmering effect of the ocean under the sunny Queensland sun.

in progress Burleigh Beach by Yukari Iwasaki, inner child playground

 

Added the iconic surfboard shaped park bench overlooking the stunning view and after it all dried, I added the pine tree and the far away view of Surfers Paradise.

For finishing touches I’ve added a bit more depth and light in certain areas to build up the colours and here it is:

Burleigh beach mini canvas by Yukari Iwasaki, inner child playground

The final painting

Small enough to carry to her new home but I am sure a piece of home will be a perfect addition to her new home.

Hope she likes it!

Cheers to letting go,
Signature of Yukari Iwasaki, blogger of Inner Child Playground

Yukari Iwasaki

Facebook: /innerchildplayground

Instagram: /innerchildplayground

This entry was published on February 1, 2014 at 11:00 am. It’s filed under painting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

