innerchildplayground
Self portrait inspired by Brett Whiteley by Yukari Iwasaki inner child playground

Brett Whiteley inspired self portrait

 

This weekend was free flowing – it started off with jogging on a sunny Saturday morning and continued on where I strolled around Surry Hills.

I wandered into a fabric store, picked up some free ice cream (thanks Empire Collection Connoisseur Ice Cream!) and as I was in the area I decided to visit Brett Whiteley studio.

This art gallery is particularly close to me as I attended its art workshop last year and those short six weeks reintroduced me to art that inspired me to start this blog.

As I walked past the giant matchstick into the gallery I assumed that everything is exactly how it was last time I was here. I was pleasantly surprised that three times a year, the gallery changes its exhibition.  Until November the exhibition is all about “portrait”.

Brett Whiteley controversially won the coveted Archibald Prize with his piece titled, “Self Portrait in the Studio”.  Raw artworks are the result of his unique perspective and his struggle with creating portraits that is so inspiring.

Brett Whiteley studio inner child playground

A section of Brett Whiteley studio

I left the gallery appreciating Brett Whiteley studio once again and content with my Saturday.

Today, after my chores I rewarded myself with smashed avocado on toast while I basked in the Sydney sun.

Picnic at Bradfield Park overlooking Sydney on Sunday

While I enjoyed the warmth, I read, napped and sketched a few drawings – one of them being the self portrait.  This is how I think I looked during my picnic this afternoon but being inspired by Brett Whiteley exhibition yesterday I wanted to go beyond a literal portrait.

Highlighting certain features and juxtaposing these images reflect this afternoon.

Compared to the self sketch series, I feel like I have explored a new approach and hence progressed through Brett Whiteley’s influence.

Today was the perfect way to end my great week and I am happy with myself when I see and feel that I am challenging, learning, progressing and growing.

Cheers to letting go,

Signature of Yukari Iwasaki, blogger of Inner Child Playground

 

 

Yukari Iwsasaki

Instagram : @innerchildplayground

This entry was published on September 21, 2014 at 11:27 pm. It’s filed under art exhibition, Drawing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Brett Whiteley inspired self portrait

  1. looks like idea drawing another idea, love it so much

Leave a Reply

