innerchildplayground

Introvert’s Introspection

introvert with outer noise by Yukari Iwasaki inner child playground

 

I have always been shy. I am jumpy and sweat easily when I get stressed or nervous.  Small, intimate group is preferable over a crowd who talks over each other.

Slowly but surely I have learnt to open up more to people.  The urge to change was at the start of my second semester at university when I figured out that every class in every semester meant different groups of people.  Once I made friends, then I have to try and make new friends the next semester for each class I took – unless I kick myself out of my comfort zone.

Luckily for me, awkwardly ‘reaching out’ to people by asking uncomfortable amount of questions have rewarded me with a friendship I still maintain.

The university life and also moving out of home to a new city shaped me to be much more outgoing than before.  Yet working with loud, ME-ME-ME! personalities at work often reverts me back to how I exactly use to feel – out of place, something missing, something – wrong.

Especially during management meetings; I feel that I have to change, to be more like ‘them’ and to be more gregarious or speak out something funny for the sake of speaking.

I don’t feel too bad about how I am and who I am now because I started to read a book written by Susan Cain, called “Quiet”.  Susan’s book is about introverts in an extroverted world.

Reading this book makes me at peace with myself because I feel that I am just misunderstood by LOUD people.  Just because they can’t appreciate a quieter approach of communication, they can’t assume that there is nothing going on with me and that I’m boring.

In fact there is a lot of things going on with me; it’s just that it’s internal.

introvert black and white Yukari Iwasaki inner child playground

There has been a lot of changes recently in my life but having a better understanding of myself as an introvert has helped me to feel comfortable with myself.

Cheers to letting go,

Signature of Yukari Iwasaki, blogger of Inner Child Playground

 

 

Yukari Iwsasaki

Instagram : @innerchildplayground

This entry was published on October 2, 2014 at 10:53 pm. It’s filed under Design - Graphic Arts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

