innerchildplayground

Helping Hands

helping-hands-by-Yukari-Iwasaki-inner-child-playground

Last weekend, Count and I decided to ride our bikes to enjoy a night picnic listening to the Opera in The Domain, Sydney CBD.

On the way, Count’s bike had an issue and we had to stop along the way to fill up his wheels with air. Soon after we arrived an athletic lady on a bike pulled over and offered to help pump up Count’s tyres.  We had a nice chat while she inflated Count’s wheels back to its healthy state and we were on our way.

Once we arrived, we found a spot and I started to take some pictures before we lost daylight. A sneaky lady appeared out of nowhere and offered to take some snaps of us. She took a bunch of photos which made me quite happy as we hardly have photos together.

The night was an enjoyable mix of culture and fantastic food.

Following day Count and I brought our bikes to Manly for a ride and for us to swim. Although I brought my parents to the walk a few weeks ago, I forgot a big set of stairs.  Count carried his  bike up to the top of the stairs first so he can carry mine.  I tried to carry my bike a few steps but thought it’s a bit dangerous and decided to head back….but my bike lifted up! I looked behind me and there was a lady carrying the rear tyre. She helped me carry the bike all the way to the top of the stairs and wished me a good day.

My weekend interaction made me reflect on the fact that I go to places where thousands of people flock to, yet I usually keep to myself.  Isn’t the huge success of selfie stick saying something – that people pay money to avoid a few seconds of interaction with strangers? Yet in two days riddled ith happy accidents, 3 ladies who I have never met before offered me their hands, just because.

More than the big bocconcini that I ate, more than listening to the mind blowing lung capacity of the opera singers, more than the freshness of the summer beach – strangers kindness was the sweetest experience of the weekend.

Have you done your good deed of the day recently?

Cheers to letting go,

Signature of Yukari Iwasaki, blogger of Inner Child Playground

Yukari Iwsasaki

Instagram : @innerchildplayground

This entry was published on January 28, 2015 at 11:42 pm. It’s filed under painting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Helping Hands

  1. How heart warming weekend you spent!! I am happy for you^o^

Leave a Reply

