innerchildplayground

I heart Sydney , the Sydney life with model drawing

final-model-drawing-by-Yukari-Iwasaki-inner-child-playground

Five years ago on March 13, I moved to Sydney on my own to pursue a career. It was a scary, often lonely, everything-is-new period of my life where I moved out of my family home for the first time to new a city to start my first full time job.

Fast forward five years to yesterday, I headed out to yet another Sydney’s free events in the CBD, this one called Spectrum Now.

Wandering around the event venue under the sun, I sipped some Hendricks Gin before I entered a circus tent looking venue for the model drawing course.

Spectrum Now Yukari Iwasaki inner child playground

Half an hour class consisted of a dandy gentleman striking poses while two art teachers from NSW Art of Gallery gave out pointers and different exercises to explore mark making.

various-exercises-by-Yukari-Iwasaki-inner-child-playground

Quick mark making exercises

After the class that reminded me of my Brett Whiteley art classes, I wandered around the event a bit more, listening to a live music under a tree.

I had an hairdresser appointment so I meandered my way through Hyde Park where I walked past a very talented busker and Sydneysiders sitting along the park bench listening to the tune on a sunny Sydney Saturday. At that moment, I truly love this city.

Unlike 5 years ago, I wasn’t looking at a map after turning every corner (heck, I offered to help a tourist where they’re going!), I knew when an event was on (and how to find them) and when I headed home I enjoyed a lovely meal and conversation with my flatmate.

These experiences will never have been experienced unless I endured those days when I was lonely in a big new city, figuring out what it meant to live away from home and figuring out how I wanted my life to be.

So this morning, I cherish every achievement and every little bravery that led me right here.

Cheers to letting go,

Signature of Yukari Iwasaki, blogger of Inner Child Playground

Yukari Iwsasaki

Instagram : @innerchildplayground

This entry was published on March 15, 2015 at 10:05 am. It’s filed under Drawing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

