innerchildplayground

“Life is adventure” travel bag

Life is adventure bag by Yukari Iwasaki inner child playgroundLife is adventure bag by Yukari Iwasaki inner child playground

One of my art project I started in July when I went back home was to make a sturdy, comfortable and useful travel messenger bag.  My mom helped me make it from scratch including figuring out the construction and sewing it.

After I returned to Sydney, I sketched some designs…

bag design sketch by Yukari Iwasaki inner child playground

I decided on the design and started painting with a fabric paint.  Seems a touch of water allows the paint to run smoothly but too much liquid lets the paint bleed into the fabric. Since I haven’t worked on calligraphy for a while, I practiced on some left over fabrics…

20150830_171703

Thickly painting the jet black fabric paint on the bottom of the bag (so that when I put it on the floor the dirt won’t show too easily), I worked my way through making my design a reality.

painting in progress by Yukari Iwasaki inner child playground

Voila!

Life is adventure bag by Yukari Iwasaki inner child playgroundLife is adventure bag by Yukari Iwasaki inner child playground

I haven’t sewn for a while but boy, I missed physically making something after packing up my possession at work and home as well as planning for the trip during the last few weeks!

As the paint has dried on the travel bag; I have successfully moved from my place and said goodbye to my colleagues who are now my friends.  I am ready to sling on this travel bag and venture around Europe!

Cheers to letting go,

Signature of Yukari Iwasaki, blogger of Inner Child Playground

Yukari Iwsasaki

Instagram : @innerchildplayground

This entry was published on August 31, 2015 at 10:59 pm. It’s filed under painting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on ““Life is adventure” travel bag

  1. Long since you posted!

Leave a comment